Spirit of Community Awards

Congratulations to our 2020 Honorees!



Deborah Habel, Lecturer of Accounting, Mike Ilitch School of Business



Faculty Award
Jannell White, Ph.D., Assistant Professor (Research), Departments of Pharmacology/Pediatrics

Staff Award
Harman Singh, Academic Advisor, Department of Psychology 

Project Award
Internationals@Wayne - Internationals @ Wayne State student organization is a platform for students who want to create lasting friendships with people from different cultures and backgrounds, build a global community, and explore the great city of Detroit together.

Student Award
Laial Beidoun, Political Science '19



Faculty Award
Winner: Diane Cress, Associate Professor, Department of Nutrition and Food Science; Graduate Director, Nutrition and Food Science
Honorable Mention: Rachael Dombrowski, Assistant Professor - Community Health Education, College of Education 
Honorable Mention: Sabrina Balgamwalla, Assistant Professor (Clinical), Wayne Law; Director of the Asylum and Immigration Law Clinic

Staff Award
Winner: Dawn Medley, Associate Vice President, Enrollment Management
Honorable Mention: Knoll Larkin, Director, Office of Cancer Health Equity and Community Engagement, Karmanos Cancer Institute; Research Manager, Wayne State University 
Honorable Mention: Jill Wurm, Associate Director, Marketing & Communications, Wayne State Library System

Project Award
Winner: S.A.V.E.T.H.E.M.'s Stomping Out Program -An annual high school health fair and step show competition that supports high school students as they creatively express themselves while teaching their peers about health promotion and disease prevention specific to health issues affecting their age group
Honorable Mention: Warrior Way Back - This initiative is a first of its kind, innovative debt-forgiveness program that allows students the opportunity to earn their way out of an outstanding balance owed to WSU
Honorable Mention: The D and the Leader in Me - A collaboration between the Institute for Leadership and Diversity at the Mike Ilitch School of Business and the Detroit Police Department which introduced 30 Detroit high school students to city business, government and non-profit leaders and entrepreneurs active in the revitalization of the city

Student Awards
Warrior Spirit & Pride

Winner: Bailee Soper, Senior, Psychology 
Honorable Mention: Mister Whitfield, Senior, Criminal Justice 
Honorable Mention: Mazen Zamzam, Senior, Biology and Public Health 

Campus Engagement & Community Involvement
Winner: Shanmin Sultana, Sophomore, Sociology
Honorable Mention: Waleed Eliwat, Senior, Biochemistry and Chemical Biology
Honorable Mention: Sarosh Irani, Senior, Public Health and Public Affairs

Student Wellness & Well-Being
Winner: Nadir Fouani, Senior, Psychology (w/ minors in Sociology & Public Health)
Honorable Mention: Pheven Dereje, Junior, Kinesiology
Honorable Mention: Kamali Clora, Junior, Public Health (Honors)


Congratulations to our previous winners:

Staff Engagement Award

Recognizes a staff member who demonstrates exceptional commitment to service with a nonprofit agency or to coordinating or sustaining projects that make a positive difference in the community.

2019- Donna MacDonald, Institute of Gerontology
2018- Joan Verla, College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts
2017- LaShawnda Wrice, Development and Alumni Affairs


Faculty Engagement Award

Recognizes a faculty member who demonstrates outstanding achievement in academic service-learning through working in a mutually beneficial partnership with a community partner; developing reflective, creative, compassionate and just student leaders; and/or engaging in exemplary community-based research.

2019- Stephen Kahn, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
2018- Tolulope Sonuyi, School of Medicine
2017- Hayley Thompson, Leader, Population Studies & Disparities Research Program, Karmanos Cancer Institute and Associate Professor, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Department of Oncology


Student Engagement Award

Recognizes a student who demonstrates service to the community with dedication, integrity, humility, thoughtful leadership, compassion and soul, and a deep understanding of social justice.

2019 Kavya Davuluri, Irvin D. Reid Honors College
2018- Tannia Rodriguez-Valenzuela, College of Engineering
2017- Tapinder Singh, Graduate Student, WSU School of Medicine


Project Engagement Award

Innovative projects by individuals or organizations/groups that respond to local, community-identified needs.

2019- WSU Medical House in Auntie Na's Village
2018- Diabetes Education and Wellness Clinic (D.E.W.) 
2017- Street Run Outreach Program of Street Medicine Detroit


Inspire from Within Philanthropy Award

Recognizes WSU faculty and staff who help strengthen the Wayne State community through philanthropic investment. Through annual, major and planned giving, WSU faculty and staff have the opportunity to serve the university, illustrate the power of philanthropy and inspire others to give.

2019- Lisa Rapport
2018- Patrick Gossman
2017- Peter and Karen Frade


Please visit our FaceBook Page to view photos from the 2018 event.