Wayne State University

Aim Higher

Spirit of Community Awards

In partnership with the Office of the President, Office of the Provost, Dean of Students' Office, and the Alumni Association, the Division of Government and Community Affairs presented the inaugural Wayne State University Spirit of Community Awards Ceremony and Reception on Thursday, March 23, 2017.

Wayne State encourages all faculty, staff and students to participate in meaningful, sustainable and mutually beneficial relationships with our community. These awards honor members of our university who best exemplify the spirit of Wayne State University’s deep commitment to community engagement.

Congratulations to the 2017 winners:

Staff Engagement Award

LaShawnda Wrice, Development Operations Coordinator, WSU Office of Development and Alumni Affairs

Faculty Engagement Award

Hayley Thompson, Leader, Population Studies & Disparities Research Program, Karmanos Cancer Institute and Associate Professor, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Department of Oncology

Student Engagement Award

Tapinder Singh, Graduate Student, WSU School of Medicine

Project Engagement Award

Street Run Outreach Program of Street Medicine Detroit

Inspire from Within Philanthropy Award

Peter and Karen Frade