Wayne State University

Aim Higher

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Tribute Luncheon 2016

Wayne State University’s annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Tribute will take place Friday, January 15, 2016 at the Max M. Fisher Music Center. The Tribute brings together the metro Detroit community to celebrate and honor the life and legacy of Dr. King. This year's keynote speaker is Van Jones.

  Buy Tickets Now  

Key Note Speaker

The Three Doctors

Van Jones is a civil rights leader, former Obama White House advisor, and CNN political correspondent. He is the Founder and President of Dream Corps — an incubator, platform and home for world-changing initiatives that empower the most vulnerable in our society. The Dream Corps three programs, #cut50, #YesWeCode, and Green For All, work to close prison doors and open doors of opportunity.

A Yale-educated attorney, Van has written two New York Times bestsellers: The Green Collar Economy, the definitive book on green jobs, and Rebuild the Dream, a roadmap for progressives. Over the past two decades, Van has founded four thriving social enterprises, advancing solutions to some of America’s toughest economic and environmental problems. In 2009, Van worked as the green jobs advisor to the Obama White House. There, he helped run the inter-agency process that oversaw $80 billion in green energy recovery spending.

«Read More»

Shuttle Bus Times and Routes

Date and Time

Friday, January 15, 2016, 9 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Doors open at 9 a.m.
Program starts at 10 a.m.
Luncheon starts at 11:30 a.m.
Last shuttle frmo DIA 1:30 p.m.

Parking and Shuttle Services


Estimated arrival times at each location for the chartered shuttle buses
Scott Hall Welcome Center FAB AAB
8:45 a.m. 8:45 a.m. 8:50 a.m. 8:55 a.m.
9:05 a.m. 9:00 a.m. 9:05 a.m. 9:10 a.m.
9:20 a.m. 9:15 a.m. 9:20 a.m. 9:25 a.m.
9:35 a.m. 9:35 a.m. 9:40 a.m. 9:45 a.m.
  9:45 a.m. 9:50 a.m. 9:55 a.m.

Scott Hall - 540 E. Canfield
The shuttle stop will be on Canfield.

Welcome Center - 42 W. Warren
The shuttle stop will be on Warren.

Faculty Administration Building (FAB) - 656 W. Kirby
The shuttle stop will be on Anthony Wayne Drive.

Academic Administration Building (AAB) - 5700 Cass
The shuttle stop will be on the opposite side (southeast corner of Cass and Palmer) of AAB.

Previous keynote speakers

The Three Doctors - 2015 Dr. C.T. Vivian – 2007
Dr. Mae Jemison - 2014 Congressman John Conyers – 2003
Harold Ford, Jr. - 2013 Judge Damon Keith – 2002
Donna Brazile - 2012 Congresswoman Carolyn Kilpatrick – 2001
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar - 2011 James McBride – 2000
Dr. Benjamin S. Carson - 2010 Dr. Alvin Poussaint – 1999
Susan L. Taylor - 2009 Dr. Ronald Walters - 1997
Dr. Charles G. Adams – 2008  


Net Proceeds Benefit Adopt-A-Classroom

Net proceeds from the Tribute will support Adopt-A-Classroom. WSU, in partnership with our generous Tribute sponsors, has donated more than $33,000 to Adopt-A-Classroom in the past five years. Adopt-a-Classroom is a nationally recognized organization that invites the community into classrooms to increase opportunity for student success by empowering teachers with community partnerships and funds to purchase resources for their classrooms. See the classrooms we've helped.


Community Leadership Awards

The Office of Government and Community Affairs is proud to announce the 2014 Community Leadership Awards. The purpose of these awards is to honor an individual and an organization whose contributions affect our community in a positive way. This years' winners include:

  • GO-GIRL (Gaining Options-Girls Investigating Real Life)
  • Daphne Ntiri

Previous winners include: 

2012 2010
Focus: HOPE Crossroads of Michigan
Eleanor Josaitis (posthumously) Tyree Guyton
2011 2009
Wayne State Math Corps Reverend Faith Fowler
Jeff DeBruyn Colin Hubbell (posthumously)


InsideOut Citywide Poets to perform

InsideOut's Citywide Poets is an intensive after-school program for aspiring high school poets. For the past four years, the talented young poets received standing ovations as they performed their extraordinary poems crafted especially for the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Tribute program. The Citywide Poets have won numerous awards including the prestigious Coming Up Taller Award given by the President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities. We are honored that they have accepted the invitation to once again perform at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Tribute.



Boulevard and Trumbull Towing Mercedes Benz



For more information on how to support the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Tribute, contact the Office of Government and Community Affairs, at (313) 577-5284.